Start of the Fall Season

Photo provided by Kotaku.com

Photo provided by Kotaku.com

This week marks the start of the fall season of anime. And while there are a good 20 to 30 shows coming out, I will only be covering a few mostly based on my initial interest in them. So without  further ado here is my preview of the 2013 fall anime season:

Photo provided by funimation.com

Photo provided by funimation.com

Tokyo Ravens:

The only show that I’ve actually watched the first episode this week. Not too much to say about it yet other than that I’m the most excited about this show than any other I’ve previewed. It is about a kid who is from the branch family of a powerful family of mages. This show seems to be “bringing it on all fronts”. It has amazing illustrations, solid foundation for characters, a relatively original story, and is not pigeon-holed in a single genre.

Synopsis:

“Tokyo Ravens is the story of an ordinary high school boy from a not-so-ordinary family. Hautora was born into an ancient clan of onmyouji known for their mastery of all things occult. Unfortunately, he didn’t inherit the magical ability to see spirit energy, so he was doomed to live a normal life. At least, that is, until a mysterious girl from Harutora’s past returns to alter the course of his future!”

Where to Watch:

Funimation

Photo provided by Funimation.com

Photo provided by Funimation.com

Unbreakable Machine-Doll

Not a show I have particularly been too excited about. It looks interesting enough but I just haven’t seen enough to truly catch my attention. Though I do look forward to giving this show a shot. I actually became much more interested once I watched the trailer. The art seems to do well enough. My only reservation on the show is from a (as the kids say it) fan-service standpoint. So we’ll see how it goes and I look forward to writing it about it as soon as this weekend.

Synopsis:

“In the mechanized city of Liverpool, a Japanese student and his beautiful female companion enter the most prestigious magic academy in the world—the place all puppeteers dream of going. There, students use automatons and living dolls to fight against each other in the quest to become the world’s best puppeteer.”

Where to Watch:

Funimation

Hulu

Photo provided by Crunchyroll.com

Photo provided by Crunchyroll.com

Strike the Blood

This show looks pretty neat. At this point thats about all I can say. An interesting storyline about a modern-day shaman hunting the worlds strongest vampire in present day tokyo leads me to think this show will do alright but at this point only time will tell. The art and animation is nothing special but by no means bad.

Synopsis:

“The fourth primogenitor is the most powerful vampire once thought to exist only in the world of legends. Yet when it appears in Japan, the government for some reason chooses an apprentice “sward shaman”, Yukina Himeragi, to observe and obliterate it. Bewildered by the disproportionate task and its specific details, Yukina arrives at the Demon District of Itogami-jima to watch Akatsuki Kojo, and a student at a private high school on Itogami-jima.”

Where to Watch:

Crunchyroll

Photo provided by crunchyroll.com

Photo provided by crunchyroll.com

Walkure Romanze

I know… I know… I talked about fanservice earlier. But hey this will be my guilty pleasure anime of this season. I don’t really expect much out of this show. Looks like a run-of-the-mill harem show with no leading specialty. The main characters origin of a former injured knight kind of peaks my interest but I’m not really watching this store for story now, am I?

Synopsis:

“Horses dashing gallantly… Knights challenging their own limits… Magnificent, heroic battles highlight the horseback lance sport of jousting. One of the many people fascinated by this proud sport, Mizuno Takahiro, acts as a begleiter (an assistant) to jousting knights as he lives his rather tedious life at Winford Academy. This is the story of Takahiro and these female knights in their passionate, noble battles.”

Where to Watch:

Crunchyroll

Photo provided by Crunchyroll.com

Photo provided by Crunchyroll.com

I Couldn’t Become A Hero, So I Reluctantly Decided To Get A Job

Again with the fanservice… I’m sorry. But this show doesn’t seem to focus as much on it. It reminds me of a really good show from the summer season (The Devil is a Part Timer) only reverse. Again don’t know what to expect. Just gonna kinda watch it and hope its good. Art kinda makes me smile I guess.

Synopsis:

“Raul had always wanted to be a hero, but failed the exams necessary to become one. He reluctantly took a job working at a small electronics store called Magic Shop Leon. His life is dull but busy until a new girl comes applying for a part time job. She’s the daughter of the demon king who defeated him in his exam.”

Where to Watch:

Crunchyroll

Photo provided by Crunchyroll.com

Photo provided by Crunchyroll.com

Outbreak Company

In hindsight, I really wish I hadn’t made that fanservice comment cause now three-in-a-row seem to have it. But this show seems to have a special little twinkle to it. I can’t quite put my finger on it. The premise kinda makes me want to watch it and for that reason I will. Art is a little less than the average of what I like but then again art isn’t everything.

Synopsis:

“Shinichi’s mission is to bring “otaku culture” to this new world in order to facilitate effective commerce between the two worlds. As an expert in anime, light novels, manga, and dating sims, Shinichi is revered and admired in the new world, and an unexpectedly fulfilling real life awaits him!”

Where to Watch:

Crunchyroll

Photo provided by Funimation.com

Photo provided by Funimation.com

BlazBlue: Alter Memory

Probably the mostly highly anticipated anime by most this season. This anime based on the high selling game looks to bring the same intensity it has to the fighting genre to the small screens. The art is AMAZING. So many vibrant colors and well animated characters. I will look for this to be a strong contender for the anime of the season. It would be hard to beat Attack on Titan for anime of the year but stranger things have happened.

Synopsis:

“In the year 2199, humanity eagerly awaits the dawn of a new century following a series of devastating magic wars. When the world’s most wanted man—Grim Reaper—makes a move to destroy society, a ragtag group of powerful fighters make it their mission to stop him.”

Where to Watch:

Funimation

Photo provided by Crunchyroll.com

Photo provided by Crunchyroll.com

Arpeggio of Blue Steel

MY GOD! The most beautiful trailer I think I have ever see… Not only in anime mind you. I have goosebumps after watching the trailer. Not to mention how badass the premise is… The girls are freaking battleships… BATTLESHIPS!!!!

Synopsis:

“In the year 2039, global warming has caused a sudden rise in sea level, leading mankind to lose a great deal of land territory. At the same time, a fleet of mysterious warships clad in mist, known as the “Fleet of Fog,” begin to appear throughout the world’s seas, attacking humanity’s warships with their powerful superweapons. Humanity threw all the military strength it possessed at the Fleet of Fog in a decisive battle, but was crushed by the fleet’s overwhelming might…”

Where to Watch:

Crunchyroll

Photo provided by Crunchyroll.com

Photo provided by Crunchyroll.com

Kill La Kill

EXCITEMENT! Only emotion I can say about this series. From the Creators of Gurren Lagann, this series looks like the most fun I’ll have all year.

Synopsis:

“From the team that brought you Gurren Lagann comes a completely over-the-top magical girl anime where a wandering transfer student hunting her father’s killer comes to a school ruled by a tyrannical student council president.”

Where to Watch

Crunchyroll

Wrap-up:

So this is all the shows I will be watching for the 2013 Fall Season. If there are any other show that you think I should watch please let me know.

2 responses to “Start of the Fall Season

  1. Pingback: Attack on Crunchyroll 2: The Good, The Great, and The Awesome | Pixcelation Entertainment·

  2. Pingback: Crunchyroll: The Best Anime Streaming Online - Otaku Soup! Anime Blog·

Leave a Reply

